Who are we?

A few weeks ago a guy from Movie Pilot invited me to learn more about writing through “creators academy”, an online course from creators.co, which is a really nice website. I was very interested in this, first because I could take my time with all the assignments, but also because I do realise that I have a lot more to offer than what shows through my writing, and that’s something I’ve been meaning to change for a very long time now.

I started reading the information they provided, wanting to start my first assignment right away, but I never did. It’s actually been a very long time since I first read “Chapter 1: Why Do We Write?” and I revisited it at least another two times before finally realizing why it’s been so hard for me to complete this first, really simple step: I have no idea who I want me and my audience to be.

A part of me just wants to say that my writing should be for everyone, but I know it isn’t. Then I think I should just write to people who think the same way I do, but there’s no fun in doing that. So maybe I should be very serious, but I find that the more serious I am the more boring my articles become and less people pay attention to them. So what do I do? Who am I as a writer and who do I want you to be?

Those questions have been hitting me in the face for far too long now, and the truth is, I don’t think I need to answer them. All I know is that I want to make my posts part of the nicest part of someone’s day and I have a very clear idea of what that means.

For that to happen I’m about to change the way I look at my posts and make this website a place where you don’t only come to satisfy your curiosity about whether I enjoyed this or that movie, but to find what you can learn from all this different stories and what exactly makes them great or bad.

So, in the next few weeks, there will be some very different articles showing up. They’ll be intended to anyone who’s curious and passionate about movies, just like I am. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I’ll probably enjoy writing them, and if you do, share the links with your friends and leave a comment, that’ll let me know if I’m going in the right direction.

Thanks for your attention, I hope to see you back here soon!

Leave a Reply

